Shri Naveen Patnaink
Hon'ble Chief Minister,Orissa

Services / Septage Services

  1. Orissa has taken significant strideson the path towards Swachh Orissa, Sustha Orissa. The state has adopted various innovative approaches to address sanitation challenges a cross urban and rural regions in improving the sanitation landscape. Housing and Urban Development Department has taken sustainable steps towards comprehensive sanitation across all the urban local bodies. One of the key area is management of the faecal sludge in urban areas.

  2. The 114 urban towns with a population of about 7 million generate 1175.05 m3 sludge everyday, Government of Orissa is committed to provide facilities for safe containment, transportation, disposal and safe treatment of faecal matter. Government issued the Orissa Septage Management Guidelines in 2016, & subsequently notified the Orissa Urban Sanitation Strategy and Policy in 2017. For addressing regulatory gap at ULB level, the Faecal Sludge and Septage Management Regulations 2018, are for adoption by all the urban local bodies for regulating Faecal Sludge and Septage Management activities in urban areas.

  3. Currently, the Housing and Urban Development Department is investing to construct Septage Treatment Plant to treat the faecal waste. Seven plants are already functional in the larger towns of Orissa i.e (Bhubaneswar, Rourkela, Sambalpur, Berhampur, Puri, Baripada, Dhenkanal). Three more plants are targeted to be functional by October 2019. Further, 26 treatment facilities are in the pipeline which would cumulatively cater to 75% of thec total urban population. The department has provided 209 cesspool vehicles to the ULBs to ensure safe emptying and transportation of the contained faecal waste. In addition to this about 100 cesspool vehicles are operated by private service providers in the state of Orissa

    • OWSSB provides the service of treatment of faecal sludge/septage in the following plants:

    • Basuaghai, Bhubaneswar

    • Manglaghat, Puri

    • Mohuda, Berhampur

    • Khandval, Sambalpur

    • Balughat, Rourkela

    • Raghunathpur, Baripada

    • Matagajpur, Cuttack

    • Saraswatipur, Balasore